West Virginia Embezzlement Laws & Charges + Statute Of Limitations

Views: 7228

Embezzlement charges are serious charges in the state of West Virginia and across the United States, and these crimes do differ from other types of property theft. In order for a crime to be considered embezzlement, the person stealing the property or funds must have a right to access and manage the property for another individual, and this trust is violated when the party managing the property takes it for themselves. Those that commit these crimes will face harsh penalties if convicted, and these penalties will often directly reflect the monetary value of what they have stolen.

One example of embezzlement in West Virginia would be if a person placed in charge of handling a school sports team’s fundraising was found to be taking some of the funds for his or her own use. Because this person was placed in a position of trust and responsibility over the funds, their crime would be considered embezzlement rather than another type of property theft, and their penalty will be determined by the amount they are charged with taking.

West Virginia Laws And Penalties

In the state of West Virginia, the laws and penalties surrounding embezzlement cases will depend upon the type and value of the property in question. Cases that involve greater property values will be treated more harshly, while cases involving lesser property values will be given appropriate penalties to reflect the crime.

  • Property valued at less than $1,000: Those that have embezzled property or funds that are valued at under $1,000 can face a fine of up to $2,500 as well as up to 1 year in jail.
  • Property valued at over $1,000: If the property in the embezzlement case is valued at more than $1,000, the person facing charges can be given the penalty of a fine of $2,500 as well as a minimum jail sentence of 1 year that may rise to 10 years. However, the state of West Virginia allows judges to hand out penalties at their own discretion in these cases, and a person could face lesser charges and penalties depending on their individual situation.

West Virginia Embezzlement Penalties

Penalties and charges in embezzlement cases in West Virginia are based on the individual situation as well as the property value amount. The state has certain ranges in which a value may fall under, and these ranges will determine the penalties and charges a convicted person is likely to face in the state.

Typical penalties incurred in West Virginia embezzlement cases are prison sentences, jail sentences, fines, or restitution. Restitution is paid to the victim of the crime in order to repay the funds embezzled, and these fees are ordered in the majority of embezzlement cases. Any or all penalties may be placed on those convicted of embezzlement in West Virginia, and cases are judged on a case by case basis.

Statute Of Limitations On West Virginia

The statute of limitations in the state of West Virginia in cases of embezzlement will vary depending on whether the case is results in misdemeanor or felony charges. Felonies in the state have no statute of limitations, while most misdemeanors will have a statute of limitations of 1 year. This means that these misdemeanor cases will need to be brought to court within 1 year of the crime being committed, where felony charges may be brought before a judge at any time.

Key West Virginia Embezzlement Cases